Everything’s Connected

A post I recently read on earth care reminded me of my neighbors long ago, John and Marie, who had high school educations and went to work in the mill upon graduation. They raised three girls and were good neighbors, showing up in support at public meetings where I spoke on behalf of our neighborhood.

Later, when I managed environmental litigation and was under considerable pressure from both the criminal elite and the pious poseurs, I bumped into Marie at the corner store one evening getting ice cream cones. She was excited to tell me she and John had chaperoned a bunch of kids at eco-camp in the mountains recently, and had learned that, “everything’s connected.”

I responded with something like, “Cool, isn’t it.” I think that’s why I was so proud to represent Whatcom Falls in city hall and the courthouse for five years; my neighbors were so genuine.

~ by Jay Taber on April 17, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
